Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
36 messages over 5 pages: 1 2 3 4 5  Next >>
iguanamon
Pentaglot
Virgin Islands
Speaks: Ladino
Joined 5043 days ago

2237 posts - 6731 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Portuguese, Haitian Creole, Creole (French)

Message 1 of 36
28 December 2012 at 2:06am | IP Logged 
My Portuguese is advancing nicely and I have been wanting to learn a new language. I toyed with Japanese, (lots of Portuguese base rsources available) but I'm not prepared to give it the necessary commitment. I thought about French, but I'm just not ready for it yet. The mere thought of even more verb conjugations...aaaargh...not just yet. I even thought about studying Galician, but, it's really just way too close to Portuguese.

So, why Haitian Creole? I'm not a doctor or healthcare worker. Nor am I a member of a NGO doing relief work or a volunteer- though volunteering may be in my future. Well, even though you can't get there from here- easily, I do live in the Caribbean. We have a small Haitian community on the island. I travel to Miami and New Orleans ccasionally and there's an even larger Haitian community there. I simply love the music and the people are very warm and friendly.

As a bonus, the other French Creoles of the region- St Lucia, Dominica, Guadeloupe and Martinique, French Guyana and Lanc Patua of Brazil are mutually intelligible to a large extent along the lines of the Scandinavian languages. Judging from what I've seen, it shouldn't be to difficult to make the adjustment when needed. Wyclef Jean B-World Connection video “This clip is from “B-World Connection”, a very popular television show diffused throughout the Francophone World. Guadeloupean host of the show, Brother Jimmy, travels to New York to meet with and interview Haitian/American artist Wyclef-Jean. What is interesting about this interaction is that they are both speaking their own national Creoles to each other (with French subtitles).