Haksaeng
Korea, South
Joined 5957 days ago

166 posts - 250 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Korean, Arabic (Levantine)

Message 1 of 51
30 December 2012 at 9:20am | IP Logged 
I've been living in Korea and studying the language for several years. I take classes at a hagwon in Seoul and also do as much self-directed study as I can manage. I've worked my way through TTMIK's Iyagi series a couple times and still have some issues with listening comprehension, but have seen a lot of improvement lately. I love to read in Korean and I also work on an Anki sentence deck that I downloaded from the internet. I'm not a fan of Korean dramas so I have to poke around online to find things to listen to and work on to improve my Korean. I'm a high-intermediate but my speaking lags.

In Arabic, I'm a complete beginner. In fact I just decided this week, during a vacation in Lebanon, that I'm going to take up Arabic, specifically focusing on conversational Levantine Arabic to be able to understand (some) household conversation while visiting my husband's family. I bought a few kids' books and am beginning to learn the letters/sounds and want to learn to read. My husband, a native speaker, can help me but I will have to figure out my own course/study method.

My primary focus for language study is Korean, but I will also be learning some Arabic on the side.
1 person has voted this message useful

druckfehler
Triglot
Germany
Joined 4627 days ago

1181 posts - 1912 votes 
Speaks: German*, EnglishC2, Korean
Studies: Persian

Message 2 of 51
30 December 2012 at 2:15pm | IP Logged 
Hello Haksaeng! Just a suggestion for some listening material I found this week that I'm pretty enthusiastic about. Do you listen to any radio shows or podcasts? Although not very easy to understand I find them very good practice. I've tried listening to FM 음악 도시 성시경입니다, 장기하의 대단한 라디오, 달을 품은 토끼 and 전진희의 음악일기, all of them can be found on itunes. I'll post some detailed reviews in my log later today.