Diglot
Poland
Joined 4150 days ago

6 posts - 7 votes
Speaks: Polish*, English

Message 1 of 8
14 January 2013 at 3:29pm | IP Logged 
Hey!

I started learning Spanish with assimil course. I have done 4 lessons so far and I'm
little confused about how to say 'v' in Spanish. I know for some words it sounds like
'b' (e.g. 'voy' sounds pretty much like English 'boy') but in fourth lesson I had a word
'vaso'. On assimil's CD 'v' sounds there like in English word 'van' but when I checked
it on the internet it sounds like 'b' (http://www.merriam-webster.com/spanish/vaso ,
http://pl.pons.eu/hiszpanski-angielski/vaso or google translate).

How should i say that? Which form is more popular? Is there any general rule of saying
'v' in Spanish?
1 person has voted this message useful

Ogrim
Heptaglot
France
Joined 4449 days ago

991 posts - 1896 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, English, Spanish, French, Romansh, German, Italian
Studies: Russian, Catalan, Latin, Greek, Romanian

Message 2 of 8
14 January 2013 at 3:45pm | IP Logged 
The general normative rule, as far as Spanish spoken in Spain is concerned is the following:

V and B represents exactly the same phoneme, /b/. However, its phonetical representation (i.e. how it actually sounds) depends on the context it is in. At the beginning of a sentence or following a consonant it is pronounced as a plosive, i.e. as an unaspirated b, like you will find in Italian or French. (Note that the B-sound in English is aspirated, it means that it comes with a short breath after, like a weak h-sound.)

However, when the Spanish written B or V comes between vowels, it is pronounced as a fricative, which means that you do not close your lips completely, but let air pass through a small opening. In the international phonetic alphabet IPA this is written /β/. Please note that this way of pronouning B and V occurs not only within a word, like in "lavar", but also at the beginning of a word if the preceding word ends in vowel, "la vida".