145 messages over 19 pages: 13 4 5 6 7 ... 2 ... 18 19 Next >>
ElComadreja
Philippines
bibletranslatio
Joined 7018 days ago

683 posts - 757 votes 
2 sounds
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Portuguese, Latin, Ancient Greek, Biblical Hebrew, Cebuano, French, Tagalog

Message 9 of 145
08 April 2013 at 2:40pm | IP Logged 
I noticed something over the last few days. In the past when trying to think of a Cebuano word, I would think of the Spanish word instead (and sometimes it's still the right word). Now when someone asks me what the Spanish word is for something, I usually think of the Cebuano word first.

I'm still picking up some words from the Cebuano Bible and I'm still learning words that are not irrelevant. I remember this happening in Spanish... I'd see a word, look it up, and think that no one is ever going to use this word, and then the next day I hear it at least 3 times.

I'm still following an internet broadcast of Cebuano news, with what seems like a level of understanding that is not improving. To tell the truth, if I understand an entire news broadcast then my Cebuano will be better than my Spanish.

I'm nearly at the "get by" level of person to person conversation. The basic phrases are coming out more quickly. It may be because I made a few of them into audio cards.
1 person has voted this message useful

Expugnator
Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4946 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Norwegian, French, English, Italian, Papiamento
Studies: Mandarin, Georgian, Russian

Message 10 of 145
08 April 2013 at 8:50pm | IP Logged 
I believe the same is going to happen with me now as I'm studying Papiamento (I already speak Spanish a bit beyond the portuñol level). My natural substitute for a Papiamento word will be a Spanish one.