Groupie
United Kingdom
Joined 4127 days ago

40 posts - 40 votes
Studies: Japanese

Message 1 of 41
02 March 2013 at 5:44pm | IP Logged 
Hey everybody,

Background ~ I studied German and French in school for 3 years and 2 years of Finnish
as a hobby. I also attempted Japanese and Russian at the same time, leading to mega
burnout within the first 2 months. All languages fell by the wayside as I came of
working and drinking age but I never lost interest. I began entry level Japanese
classes in October, with the aim of going to Japan at the end of 2013. While I'm
thankful for the help breaking down the basics, I find the classes to be incredibly
slow moving for my goal. I plan to be somewhere in the intermediate scope, obviously
I'd like to be the higher end of that spectrum. During Christmas break I decided to
step it up, found myself some learning resources/blogs/methods and eventually some like
minded people here :D

After learning kana, I began RTK a week ago, aiming to complete 25+ per day. I also
began genki, jpod101 and assembling anki decks. Due to having 4 Japanese exams on
Thursday, I haven't progressed much with the courses and I fell behind a day with RTK.
It's shocking how much harder anki reviews become when you fall behind, not so much the
number of reviews, moreso my memory. Kanji I had down were just *poofed* from my brain,
guess you really do have to stick to the spacing schedule for the recall to work.

I'm at 140 kanji and should be done with the first 200 by the end of the weekend. Since
I'm following the level guide here http://japaneselevelup.com/2011/04/18/what-level-
are-you/ I want to finish up genki and 100 sentences to progress to elementary stage in
the next week or 2.

Edited by kixi on 16 April 2013 at 7:40am

1 person has voted this message useful

kixi
Groupie
United Kingdom
Joined 4127 days ago

40 posts - 40 votes

Message 2 of 41
03 March 2013 at 5:08pm | IP Logged