Heptaglot
France
Joined 4427 days ago

991 posts - 1896 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, English, Spanish, French, Romansh, German, Italian
Studies: Russian, Catalan, Latin, Greek, Romanian

Message 73 of 109
21 November 2014 at 3:37pm | IP Logged 
I just realised that I have not written anything in this log for almost a month, so it is high time.

First of all an update on my Russian studies: Unfortunately I have been very busy with work and other commitments lately, so I have had little time to advance in Russian. Last week I even felt that I was going backwards, when I picked up again the book Анекдоты: самые новые и смешные. I reread a few pages I studied quite intensely last summer, and discovered that I had forgotten quite a few words which I had made a point of learning back then. I really need to set aside more time for vocabulary study and reading. I also missed my Russian classes the last two weeks, due to work obligations. Hopefully things will get calmer as we get closer to the Christmas holiday and I can feel that I am advancing in Russian again.

Español
La verdad es que dedico bastante tiempo a seguir el campeonato mundial de ajedrez. El noruego Magnus Carlsen de 23 años defiende el título de campeón ante Viswanathan Anand, que perdió ante Carlsen hace un año. No soy un gran jugador, pero el ajedrez siempre me ha fascinado y cuando hay un campeón noruego es especialmente interesante seguir los partidos. La televisión noruega y el periódico VG transmiten todos los partidos en directo, y en VG también puedes ver todas las partidas y analizar cada jugada. Para no limitarme al vocabulario de ajedrez en noruego e inglés, leo también los artículos de Leontxo García en El País. El señor García es un gran conocedor y buen jugador él mismo, y sus análisis de las partidas valen la pena.