Logpile98
United States
N/ARegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 3965 days ago

3 posts - 5 votes
Speaks: English*

Message 1 of 22
16 June 2013 at 5:18am | IP Logged 
I am a high school graduate planning to attend Rice University in the fall, majoring in mechanical engineering.
My dream is to land a job as an automotive engineer, designing sports cars, like the Corvette or Viper. I
started thinking about the path to take, and I realized that it might be helpful to learn a new language, such as
German, Italian, or Japanese because these places are all so important in the automotive industry. It also
doesn't hurt that my school has a very flexible curriculum to encourage its students to branch out into areas
they normally wouldn't study, and they have a pretty good study abroad program. This means it would be
very feasible for me to learn a new language and live overseas for a semester. I'm still not certain what
language I'm going to learn, but I'm leaning towards Italian, because I love Italy, I always have, and its
companies are a little more important in the American automotive market (Fiat now owns the controlling
interest in Chrysler, plus there's some really cool cars there, like Ferrari, Lamborghini, and Maserati).
However, German manufacturers like VW, Mercedes, Audi, Porsche, and BMW are a big deal too. And then
of course, there's the Japanese companies, like Nissan, Infiniti, Toyota, and Lexus.

Although I love all three places, and I could study abroad at any of them, let me list some concerns I have.
Japanese is probably the hardest one to learn, and I've never learned a foreign language to fluency before. I
think German would be pretty hard too, but not as hard as Japanes because English is a Germanic language
and I wouldn't have to learn an entirely new system of writing. Italian is probably the easiest one for me to
learn, because I've taken some Spanish classes, and Italian is pretty similar to Spanish. Another thing to