19 messages over 3 pages: 1 2 3  Next >>
DevonAero
United States
Joined 3963 days ago

34 posts - 38 votes
Speaks: English*

Message 1 of 19
18 June 2013 at 5:29am | IP Logged 
Alright guys I need some opinions. I'm planning a trip to Brazil next year for the World
Cup and want to be conversational in Brazilian Portuguese. Now, from what I know.
Brazilian Portuguese and Spanish are quite similar.

However, I don't want to pause my Spanish studies, because I'll fall too far behind. Also
I'm a complete beginner if it helps. So would it be counter-productive to learn both at
the same time?
1 person has voted this message useful

outcast
Bilingual Heptaglot
China
Joined 4730 days ago

869 posts - 1364 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, English*, German, Italian, French, Portuguese, Mandarin
Studies: Korean

Message 2 of 19
18 June 2013 at 7:07am | IP Logged 
In this case yes, I'm afraid to say. But then if you are really really good at compartmentalizing perhaps not.

But usually being a beginner in Spanish AND Portuguese is not a good mix. Your brain will not be able to separate the two because it has no frame of reference to do so (that being, either one language or the other is so ingrained in you that your mind can tell the difference mostly automatically).

Remember starting to speak a new language consumes more than enough brain power: learning and using the grammar correctly, getting the pronunciation right, using the Germane vocabulary, the correct preposition, the appropriate articles, the pertinent verb endings, the suitable tenses... Your mind will be spinning just on all that, now add a very closely related language and to be honest you are asking for failure.