Is it wise to learn 2 languages at 1 time

Language Learning Forum : Advice Center Post Reply
19 messages over 3 pages: 1 2
1e4e6
Octoglot
United Kingdom
Joined 4084 days ago

1013 posts - 1588 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Norwegian, Dutch, Swedish, Italian
Studies: German, Danish, Russian, Catalan

Message 17 of 19
19 June 2013 at 5:28am | IP Logged 
I think any amount of languages is probably fine. If one treats languages as a school
subject, one must remember that in primary and secondary school one learnt maths,
history, (own language), government, chemistry, physics, etc. all in one day. So I
think one can learn even four or five simultaneously. It would be like a full day at
school, however it may take years to get to C1/C2 level this way.

In secondary school I studied Portuguese and Spanish in addition to French. In Spanish
class, I regularly made mistakes by substituting <vocĂȘ> for <usted> and using
Portuguese pronunciations when the teacher asked me to read out loud an exercise or
something. But other than this trivial confusion, I think most can learn
simultaneously.

I currently study Portuguese, Dutch, and Italian. It takes me longer than if I were
studying one language consecutively, but I think it also helps to freshen my mind by
learning simultaneously.
4 persons have voted this message useful

Cavesa
Triglot
Czech Republic
Joined 4803 days ago

3277 posts - 6779 votes 
Speaks: Czech*, FrenchC2, EnglishC1
Studies: Spanish, German, Italian

Message 18 of 19
19 June 2013 at 5:29am | IP Logged 
Have fun, that helps with quite everything. Keeping the motivation, learning better because of the easy focus etc.

No worries about the forum getting tired. There have been people with many more and much stupider questions :-) (I sometimes suspect myself of belonging in that group).
3 persons have voted this message useful

iguanamon
Pentaglot
Virgin Islands
Speaks: Ladino
Joined 5056 days ago

2237 posts - 6731 votes