Triglot
Netherlands
Joined 4049 days ago

23 posts - 30 votes
Speaks: English, Dutch*, Esperanto
Studies: German

Message 1 of 14
09 September 2013 at 10:54pm | IP Logged 
I have been studying German for almost 4 years now. In one year from now I'll reach
fluency B2/C1.

Later this year our school organises a trip to Aurich for an oral exam. I know that
Ostfriesisch is spoken there and because I have Frisian roots I would love to have a
little bit of a Ostfriesisch accent in German.

Does anyone know how I can make my German sound a bit Ostfriesisch? Like pronouncing a
few letters or letter combinations a certain way that makes it sound like I'm from
OstFriesland?
1 person has voted this message useful

tarvos
Super Polyglot
Winner TAC 2012
China
likeapolyglot.wordpr
Joined 4513 days ago

5310 posts - 9399 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, English, Swedish, French, Russian, German, Italian, Norwegian, Mandarin, Romanian, Afrikaans
Studies: Greek, Modern Hebrew, Spanish, Portuguese, Czech, Korean, Esperanto, Finnish

Message 2 of 14
09 September 2013 at 11:03pm | IP Logged 
That'll give you an accent but you would have to do an in-depth study of the phonology of
East Frisian. And use East Frisian words.

ByzantineDragon
Triglot
Netherlands
Joined 4049 days ago

23 posts - 30 votes
Speaks: English, Dutch*, Esperanto
Studies: German

Message 3 of 14
09 September 2013 at 11:05pm | IP Logged 
tarvos wrote:
And use East Frisian words.

I just want to speak German with traces of an East Frisian accent. The thing is, I can't
find East Frisian phonology anywhere.

That's why I was actually hoping a German speakers comes along this post and knows a bit
of East Frisian phonology. I'll post a second post in the German part of the site another
time if this isn't answered.

Edited by ByzantineDragon on 09 September 2013 at 11:10pm

Josquin
Heptaglot
Germany
Joined 4650 days ago

2266 posts - 3992 votes 
Speaks: German*, English, French, Latin, Italian, Russian, Swedish