Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4979 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Norwegian, French, English, Italian, Papiamento
Studies: Mandarin, Georgian, Russian

Message 1 of 2
07 November 2013 at 9:48pm | IP Logged 
I've been studying Norwegian actively since August 2012, and now I'm at a B1 level. I
can read texts and miss some words but not the essential meaning, and the same goes for
subtitles. I've been writing some paragraphs where I only had to look up some words,
but I haven't actually spoken Norwegian yet. My listening skills are very poor, and I
don't have much training even for understanding what I already know in the written
form.

I have been through almost all the existing textbooks: Assimil, Colloquial, TY, Hugo,
Linguaphone the series of monolingual textbooks På Vei, Stein på Stein, Her på Berget
and a few others. My last resource was the Advanced Audioblog Podcast which I'm about
to finish next week. Then I plan to just read through a grammar book, which won't take
much long.

Other than that, I have been learning mostly from native resources for a few months
already. I currently read two pages from a book on stories for children and I watch 30
to 40 minutes of a native Norwegian series with subtitles translated at Google
Translator.

I want to learn German, which I tried several years ago. I finished Deutsch: Warum
Nicht but found Markplatz or Wieso Nicht too hard. I also did the first half of two
Assimil editions. I can read without a dictionary and I do Anki everyday. I'm at an A2,
and Norwegian brought much synergy this year.

So, I was thinking that maybe I could drop Norwegian from my fixed schedule with
textbooks/podcasts and keep working on the stories and the TV series for it. I won't
have anything textbook-like to follow, anyway, only native resources. Then I was
considering starting German in the 10-min slot I have for when I finish the Norwegian
podcast and grammar. I'd go really fast with reviewing Assimils then start an Assimil