Diglot
Poland
Joined 3836 days ago

5 posts - 5 votes
Speaks: Polish*, English

Message 1 of 20
18 November 2013 at 9:36pm | IP Logged 
Hello,

My name's Matthew and I'm 21 years old and I'm studying law.
I have a big problem. Namely, I decided to start learning next language (English in
progress, for 1,5 years planning CAE certificate) and I can't choose ;/
I'm wondering about :
-swedish / norwegian
-russian

Chinese is out (I plan to start learning it after passing CAE certificate, because
study this language takes 7-10 years to be fluent in spoken and written)

How do you think which language will be the most useful for work relating to the Law?

Edited by Fasulye on 24 November 2013 at 2:23pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Sarnek
Diglot
Italy
Joined 4026 days ago

308 posts - 414 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, English
Studies: German, Swedish

Message 2 of 20
18 November 2013 at 11:11pm | IP Logged 
First you must ask yourself, why are you learning a new language? Out of passion or out
of sheer usefulness?

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6408 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 3 of 20
19 November 2013 at 12:51am | IP Logged 
I'm guessing you like the Scandinavian languages but think Russian might be more useful. If so, go for Scandinavian. If you speak a rare language, there might be less offers but also much less competition. Swedish might be slightly more useful, being an EU language.