Troy
Triglot
United States
Joined 4548 days ago

2 posts - 5 votes
Speaks: English, Tagalog, French

Message 1 of 5
30 November 2013 at 4:31pm | IP Logged 
Hi everyone, I am a high school graduate but haven't been to college for quite some
time now, but I finally decided that it's time to get a degree. I'm currently learning
German, so I wanted to study in Germany to get my BA in engineering. I plan to go to a
Studienkolleg for a year first before applying to a university.

However, I have found that the process of applying there is quite confusing. I'm just
not clear on how to go about on doing it. Do I need to take a German proficiency test?
Do I still use uni-assist even though I'm going to a Studienkolleg? Do I use the
application form of the University I'm going to or the application form of Uni-assist?

If anyone here has experience on applying in Germany, I would really appreciate if you
could help me out and give me a step-by-step guide.

By the way, the University I have my eye on is Technische Hochshule Mittelhessen
located in Giessen.

Edited by Troy on 30 November 2013 at 4:32pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Josquin
Heptaglot
Germany
Joined 4625 days ago

2266 posts - 3992 votes 
Speaks: German*, English, French, Latin, Italian, Russian, Swedish
Studies: Japanese, Irish, Portuguese, Persian

Message 2 of 5
30 November 2013 at 4:52pm | IP Logged 
Sorry, I can't help you with your question, but I nevertheless have to comment on this. Gießen is the ugliest German city I have ever seen. If I were you, I would want to study somewhere else. I don't know about the quality of the Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen, but if you want to have a nice quality of living there are probably more attractive universities.

montmorency
Diglot
United Kingdom
Joined 4609 days ago

2371 posts - 3676 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: Danish, Welsh

Message 3 of 5
01 December 2013 at 11:04pm | IP Logged