Diglot
United Kingdom
Joined 3885 days ago

12 posts - 22 votes
Speaks: English*, Esperanto
Studies: Persian, Spanish, Mandarin

Message 49 of 55
26 January 2015 at 8:31am | IP Logged 
I studied Persian while I was in university, and I have been continuing on-and-off in the years since. I think I'm somewhere in B1 level now, trying to progress to B2.

My favorite textbook that I've seen in the Routledge course, it's laid out really nicely and the vocabulary has example sentences.
For free resources, my favorites PersianDee, Persian in Texas (a HUGE amount of information), and Persian Language Online, although new, has some beginner-intermediate conversational lessons which are really good.

I also must recommend taking advantage of the fact that Iran does not recognize international copyright law, which means in turn most countries don't recognize its copyright laws... meaning there is a vast amount native material easily & legally available online. What I mean is دانلود and رایگان are very useful search terms ;)
3 persons have voted this message useful

Talib
Diglot
United States
Joined 6448 days ago

171 posts - 205 votes 
Speaks: English*, Arabic (classical)
Studies: Arabic (Egyptian)

Message 50 of 55
28 January 2015 at 10:48pm | IP Logged 
gordafarin wrote:

A small correction, if I may :) --
lotfan is spelled لطفاََ (instead of with a nun, with an alef and two lines on top). This is a suffix which comes from Arabic but it used a lot in Persian. It changes a word into an adverb.

I think it is interesting that so much Arabic has been borrowed into the Persian language. Looking up lotf-an in the Stiengass dictionary, I found the expression 'lotf-an va karam-an' (graciously, generously). All three words including the conjunction 'va' (and) are from Arabic. Even in the Elwell-Sutton grammar that I am currently working through, I noticed that there are 6 or 7 Arabic words out of 28 total words in the first lesson.

Edited by Talib on 28 January 2015 at 10:50pm