Greece
Joined 4140 days ago

941 posts - 1309 votes 
Speaks: Greek*, Ancient Greek*, EnglishC2
Studies: French, Russian, Turkish, Modern Hebrew

Message 1 of 252
09 December 2013 at 8:11am | IP Logged 
Hi everyone.

As it's been almost a year to the day since I joined this forum, I was just thinking how much it has helped me.

Last year I had wanderlust, wanting to learn everything and all at once. During 2013 I learned how to pace myself, and I also got my priorities straight. I know now that what I need to do in order to really learn is to focus on one language, grammar and all, and also use say MT on the side, for a second one. This way I can truly make progress on the first, while learning some basic things about the other.

2013:
I didn't learn all those languages I wanted, but I made a lot of progress in Italian (I am still studying that, untill the end of the year). So I will consider 2013 successful, because at least I learned something while changing my mind all the time!

This was also the year that I collected quite a few resources on languages.

I also learned a lot from members of the forum, through their questions, answers, arguments, etc. I learned something from everyone. So, thanks everyone!

2014:

Learn turkish.

Start with MT french and then do to the next language, etc. Just audio this year. At the end of all of this, one of the languages will spark my interest for more studies. I have yet to see which that language will be.

Tuskish materials:

Teach Yourself Turkish 1989, and audio.

Turkish Grammar (Lewis)

Study plan

All the online sources I can find. Daily exposure to native material (that is: watching turkish soap operas on tv with greek subtitles). Now I have an excuse! Actually this has helped already with the sounds and tone of the language, not to mention many words!