AmyinBrooklyn
United States
Joined 3832 days ago

87 posts - 122 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish

Message 1 of 104
09 December 2013 at 10:02pm | IP Logged 
This summer I decided to confront the one thing I had always been afraid of - learning a language - or looking, at least, looking stupid doing it. The impetuous for this is that my boyfriend is from Peru and we're planning a trip there in March. Not really knowing how to begin, I signed up for a Spanish class in my neighborhood and then committed to additionally working about a half hour a day on my own (a time frame which has since ballooned). I began doing research about language acquisition, which led me to this forum.

As a complete beginner in the Spanish language, I took my first Spanish class on October 4 and didn't begin logging my time until October 25. In addition to my weekly Spanish class, I began working my way through SynergySpanish, which I found immensely helpful and would recommend to any beginner. I listened to podcasts, watched videos and listened to music.

Since October 25 (when I began keeping my own log), I have about 97 hours of Spanish study under my belt. My goal is to get as close to 500 hours by the end of March as possible. (For some reason, I'm finding that it takes pressure off me to commit to fluency, I find it easier to commit to hours of study and assume that language acquisition will follow) I've found that I seem to max out at about 3 hours of study per day - it's hard for me to get to that number. I can do 2 hours per day quite easily.