Triglot
ScotlandRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4966 days ago

1468 posts - 2413 votes 
Speaks: English*, Italian, French
Studies: Spanish

Message 17 of 319
15 December 2013 at 2:01pm | IP Logged 
I'll join! I'm planning to study Spanish next year, and I don't currently have any interest in Portuguese etc. so this team probably fits me better than Iberia.

I've never studied Spanish before. However, I live in a city full of Spanish speakers and so I've had a lot of Spanish friends over the years; between that and my study of French and Italian, I've managed to pick up quite a decent passive knowledge and I can say some sentences, although there's still a lot of very basic stuff I don't actively know. So obviously I'm currently a beginner, but I hope to activate all that passive knowledge and reach an intermediate/conversational level fairly quickly. My plan is to work through Michel Thomas and then Assimil's Lo Spagnolo (Spanish for Italian speakers), and of course take advantage of all these speaking opportunities and enjoy the wealth of Spanish-language films and TV and books.

Edited by garyb on 15 December 2013 at 2:05pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Warp3
United States
forum_posts.asp?TID=
Joined 5294 days ago

1419 posts - 1766 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Korean, Japanese

Message 18 of 319
15 December 2013 at 9:39pm | IP Logged 
TAC 2014 Spanish Goals: Detailed

Some of these goals are actually a bit lower than I've done in the past, but that is mostly
to ensure I can consistently meet them given that I'm doing the TAC for two languages
this year. I don't want to end up with Korean goals so lofty that they stamp out any
chance of meeting the Spanish goals (or vice-versa).

1) Find my first real "hook" for Spanish.

Korean originally hooked me with music then later hooked me via other routes (like
variety TV) as well. As such, even when I'm not learning Korean actively, I'm still getting