Winner TAC 2011 & 2012
Norway
Joined 5115 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 1 of 297
30 December 2013 at 10:18pm | IP Logged 
So – a new fresh year – and new possibilities, and a time to see what I need to do with my languages, and
how I need to do it.

Who am I? Language nerd, Norwegian genes, Spanish soul, railway man, mother of two girls, proud member
of the staff to two cats ( a gorgeous Ragdoll and a neurotic “blue turtle” with an apricot paw that we love to
bits) and an avid gardener.

RUSSIAN
BACKGROUND
I have been learning Russian on and off for three-four years, and I want to learn it partly because of my job,
partly because I have friends in Ukraine I need to communicate with, and partly because it simply is one of
the most awesome languages ever.

LEVEL AND GOALS
My level is a low A2 – and I would like to take it to a high A2 or dip my toes in a low B1. In the first four
months of the year I would like to finish Assimil Russian, and I would like to go through most of the TY
Russian Grammar. I still have a lot of ground to cover when it comes to basic vocabulary and very basic
grammar. And the reason why I focus on this for the first four months specifically is that in May the Super
Challenge starts again, and I would like to understand so much Russian that it would be easier to do the
necessary reading and watching by then. I spent from 6-12 minutes on each page of Russian reading –
understanding less than 10 % - and that is really too hard. I need to learn more Russian before I try again.
And then in May I will go for another Super Challenge and hope that this time around it will push me up to
where I need to be. The rest of the year I should be busy with reading and watching films. I also count on
doing at least two 6WC with Russian. And I am counting on my teammates on team Katyusha to help me