Duan
Canada
Joined 4578 days ago

36 posts - 48 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Polish, French

Message 1 of 25
31 December 2013 at 5:08am | IP Logged 
Hi there, I'm Duan and this is my language log for the Total Annihilation Challenge.
This is my first time taking part and in fact I've been a very casual peruser of these
forums until now. Certainly, that will have to change!

I have joined up with team Sokoły to work on my Polish, and Triomphe for French.

Polish
I've been studying Polish for a little over two years now. I did it for a number of
reasons, but they were all pretty oddball, at least for the conventional language
learner. I have no Polish descendants nor significant others, or even really any
friends or acquaintances. I had no plans to visit the country (I had been to Europe
once years ago and if I ever went back Poland wasn't high on the list of places to
visit). The secret main reason is just because I really like the sound of it. Also I
heard it was tough and I wanted to give myself a challenge after trying and failing
repeatedly to learn any language through school (first French, then Japanese, Spanish
and German).

Well to make a long story short even without a dedicated regimen I was able to get
myself to a good enough level that I was able to travel to Poland after all (twice!)
this year, and have actual conversations (and be fully understood). Since a lot of
grammar points have so far failed to stick, I would class myself as still in the A
level (probably closer to A2 than A1, but who knows?). This year, I'd like to get
solidly in B1 or B2. The real goal is to get to the point where my passive skills
(listening and reading) are effortless. Listening especially is still hit or miss for
me.

That being said, I'm really proud of my Polish. I've been complimented several times
on my accent and even been proclaimed a genius by one of my new polish acquaintances
due to my acquisition of the language. Quite the ego boost, considering I can still