Switzerland
outerkhmer.blogspot.
Joined 4911 days ago

531 posts - 1126 votes 
Speaks: German*, Thai
Studies: Khmer

Message 1 of 69
01 January 2014 at 2:09pm | IP Logged 
Hi, I'm Bakunin, and this is my log for Thai, Polish, maybe some French and, God forbid, wanderlust.

I've been learning Thai since 2009, most of the time at a pretty decent level of intensity. I guess I'm somewhere in the B's, but it's hard to say with certainty. I'm pretty comfortable reading books, listening to the radio, writing emails and chatting with friends, but there's still a lot I don't know or can't express with ease.

I learned Polish for about three years around 2000 and reached an intermediate level back then. Most of that is dormant, but I've been trying to wake it up since summer 2013. Now, at the beginning of 2014, I've recovered enough Polish to be able to enjoy reading books for young readers and get the gist of most podcasts I've subscribed to. However, I can't say much and am far from being able to hold a conversation.

I started learning French in 2006, with a few intensive bursts here and there. Mostly, it has been on the back burner, though. Listening is my strongest skill since I regularly listen to a wide variety of podcasts. I also read books, often alternating between regular novels, which are vocabulary-wise still a bit of a challenge, and books for young readers. I did a fair amount of speaking in the first few years but haven't had many opportunities in recent years.

Edited by Bakunin on 08 March 2014 at 8:34pm

2 persons have voted this message useful

Mooby
Scotland
Joined 5886 days ago

707 posts - 1219 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Polish

Message 2 of 69
01 January 2014 at 2:20pm | IP Logged 
Witam Bakunin!
Best wishes in 2014 for all your languages (especially Polish of course!).

1 person has voted this message useful

Zireael
Triglot
Poland
Joined 4432 days ago

518 posts - 636 votes 
Speaks: Polish*, EnglishB2, Spanish