Germany
Joined 3772 days ago

10 posts - 12 votes
Speaks: German*, English
Studies: French, Japanese, Latin

Message 1 of 6
01 January 2014 at 3:08pm | IP Logged 
Welcome to my log for the TAC 2014!

This is my first time participating and I'm very excited to start learning languages
again. I haven't really done that for about three years, just on and off. But if I want
to get any better at my languages or even learn a new one, I'll have to sit down and
simply study it. The TAC is kind of my incentive to do exactly that ^^

My main language in 2014 will be Japanese. I'll also take up French again and Latin
will be my new language.

JAPANESE
I'm currently at N3/N4 level, I think. I have never taken the test and don't plan on
doing so in the foreseeable future. So I can only guess by looking at grammar and
vocabulary lists. I've been studying Japanese on and off for years without making any
considerable progress. That's something I want to change in 2014.
My overall goal is to reach a solid N2 level, especially in terms of grammar and
vocabulary.
As for Kanji, I'm going to take a different route. I'll (re)study all 1006 elementary
school kanji with special regard to vocabulary building. In the past I've already
studied those 教育漢字 (kyouiku kanji) up to grade 5 and I actually remember a great
part of them. But my vocabulary is too limited. That means, quite often I can't read
and understand a word, even if it contains only kanji I know.
Since vocabulary is my weak point, I set myself the goal of increasing it by 5000
Japanese words.

FRENCH
I used to study French in school for years. I've always had very good grades. And
according to my certificates I reached a B1 level. Well, that seems like a very long
time ago, even though it's really just a couple of years since my last proper French
lesson. The truth is, I've forgotten a lot. I look at my old notes and see strange
words all over the place. I must have known them once, I'm sure about that, but not