Hexaglot
United Kingdom
Joined 5591 days ago

722 posts - 1076 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Italian
Studies: Russian, Czech, Polish, Greek, Mandarin

Message 1 of 27
02 January 2014 at 2:00am | IP Logged 
I did my first TAC last year but gave up updating my log around March. Let’s see if I can do better this year. I teach French and Spanish in a comprehensive school in the UK.

For the challenge I am concentrating on Mandarin as I want to go to China in the Summer. I shall also be observing team Sokoły as I study Polish. In addition I study several other languages and would be the first to admit that I spread myself too thinly.

TAC LANGUAGES

MANDARIN CHINESE

CURRENT LEVEL LOW A2

I began learning Mandarin Chinese about 5 years ago. I was always reluctant to study this language as I thought it would be too difficult, being a tonal language. In fact for many years I studied Japanese. However my school established a link with a school in China so I decided to give up Japanese in favour of Chinese. I find the language fascinating and enjoy learning the Hanzi. (I use skritter.com to practise them and officially know 805 characters, although in reality I can probably only write half that number from memory.) But I find it disconcerting that, if your tones aren’t reasonably accurate, it’s very difficult to make yourself understood.

My school actually paid for me to do a 2 week language course in Beijing in 2010. Of course I didn’t make much progress in such a short time, but it was an interesting experience. This year I want to travel around the country. I especially want to visit the Panda reserve in Chengdu. :-)

GOALS