Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Mi Cuaderno: Español, Mandarín (TAC ’14)

Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
16 messages over 2 pages: 1 2  Next >>
nj24
Diglot
Groupie
United States
Joined 4444 days ago

56 posts - 106 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: Italian, French

Message 1 of 16
02 January 2014 at 5:36am | IP Logged 
This is my first time keeping a log here and also my first time participating in TAC. :) I hope my log will be helpful
to others!

Language Background & Goals for 2014
I've been studying Spanish for over two years and have just begun dabbling with Mandarin over the past two
months. My weakest Spanish skill is speaking so I will be focusing on strengthening my conversational abilities
and immersing myself in native materials. I hope to reach a B2/C1 level by the end of the year. I would like to
reach an A2 level in Mandarin.

2013 really saw the biggest jump in my Spanish level. I started the year struggling through a translated copy of
the Hunger Games. I finished the year with two Gabo novels under my belt: Crónica de una muerte anunciada and
Doce cuentos peregrinos. I started the year feeling utterly lost watching Spanish movies and TV shows without
subtitles. I finished the year having enjoyed and understood (without subtitles) nearly every conversation of the
Spanish TV show Gran Hotel. I started the year wondering how on earth I was ever going to remember every
single verb conjugation. I ended the year with comments from native speakers on my Lang-8 entries
complimenting my Spanish grammar. I can now understand many Spanish songs without having to first look up
the lyrics. The best part yet, though, was finding a Spanish speaking partner in October and discovering that I
could actually talk in Spanish for over an hour without needing to revert to English. But I still have a long way to
go to reach conversational fluency. I don't want to be stopped at a plateau now so I know I need to continue