Jeffers
United Kingdom
Joined 4659 days ago

2151 posts - 3960 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Hindi, Ancient Greek, French, Sanskrit, German

Message 145 of 451
28 June 2014 at 4:54pm | IP Logged 
I get your frustration with flashcards. A long time ago, I thought the key to learning a language was to learn a ton of vocab. And back then I thought 1000 words was a ton. I briefly went the other way when I started learning French; I thought I would just pick up words by regular contact and assimilation. But when I started to read A1 readers and had to look up 5-10 words a page, I got my frequency dictionary. I tried sentences as well for a while, but they were too time-consuming to enter, and especially to learn (did I get one little word in the sentence wrong? Boom, fail that sucker!)

I fully understand the concept behind those who oppose learning words in isolation. If they looked at me studying nothing but vocab all those years ago, I fit their description. But if you are studying words from texts you are using, or high-frequency words that are likely to come up anywhere, then by reading and watching, you're actually not learning words in isolation. I think people who argue against learning isolated words (as well as those who insist on monolingual flashcards) usually create a straw-man argument to prove their case.

My point is that if you combine traditional vocab study with a lot of native material, then you do meet those words in context, and therefore the standard objections are overcome. A small diet of bilingual, single word flashcards is a very helpful part of a wider study of a language. For me, not a day goes by that I don't hear or read a new word I just learnt recently, or learn a word I have recently heard or read. I think that is miles better than trying to learn examples at the time of learning the word, and is much easier for me to do.