Diglot
Canada
Joined 4099 days ago

165 posts - 347 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Catalan, Spanish, Japanese, Ukrainian, German

Message 1 of 57
07 January 2014 at 2:32pm | IP Logged 
Hello all. The name's Sizen and I'm half less serious than I might appear.

Japanese for 旅立ち
I've been studying Japanese since I was about 14, 6 years ago. It would be a lie if I said I studied regularly since day 1 however. I basically started with Tae Kim's guide and an application called Human Japanese for my, at the time, ipod touch while I wrote the Hiragana and Katakana tables over and over again. After that, I used a variety of Kanji books to study vocabulary. Since starting my studies, I've done a 2 week trip to Japan with my high school class, a 5 month exchange in Osaka during my senior year and a 3 month stint in a language school in Tokyo.

Every since coming back from Tokyo, however, I've been less focused on studying Japanese. I spent a few months preparing for my N1 in the summer of '12, but I was pretty laid back about it. Once I had passed it, I basically stopped doing anything with my Japanese. I've occasionally read a book, a manga or watched an anime or a movie, but it's not regular enough for me to build up or maintain any skills.

My current plan is to adopt the approach to French that I've been employing over the past few months and to apply it to my Japanese studies. I've always had a difficult time staying focused enough to study a language every day for more than a couple weeks, but I feel like I've finally arrived at a strategy that I can maintain without too much hassle. So starting this month I will do my best to expose myself to 1 hour of Japanese every day, and once I feel comfortable with that, I'll bump it up to 2 hours like my French. Anything goes: movies, podcasts, comics, writing, chatting. As long as it's 2 hours.