Joined 3795 days ago

67 posts - 95 votes 
Speaks: English*, Russian*, French, Japanese
Studies: Spanish, Thai

Message 1 of 7
09 January 2014 at 5:35pm | IP Logged 
Hey everyone,

I'm the leader/founder of TAC14 Team Coconut for
Southeast Asian languages. This is my personal TAC log for 2014 - I will be focusing
overwhelmingly on Thai, but since I'm also working here and there on my Japanese, you
may occasionally see something about that.

I've been learning Thai for ~2 months now and am happy with the progress I've made in
that time. I can understand/catch a lot of basic words when I watch movies and I can
put together a lot of simple sentences/phrases.

This year in May-June 2014, I will be going to Chiang Mai for a month. My goal is to be
at a lower-intermediate level by that time, where I can have basic conversations
(nothing too fancy) and where I will have gotten completely used to the sounds of Thai,
so that I can easily pick up lots of new words.

By the end of the year, I'd like to be at a higher-intermediate level and be able to
express more complicated ideas in conversation.

Wish me luck!
2 persons have voted this message useful

doubleUelle
Bilingual Tetraglot
Groupie
United States
Joined 3795 days ago

67 posts - 95 votes 

Message 2 of 7
09 January 2014 at 5:39pm | IP Logged 
Here are some of the resources/methods I'm using to learn Thai:

1. Teach Yourself Thai (used intermittently).

2. Lots of movies and TV shows, including some dubbed from English or Japanese, which
I've seen in the original.

3. Mnemosyne + sentences.

4. Thai: A Reference Grammar by David Smythe.

5. Thai2English - I have the software downloaded on my
laptop.

(If you are learning Thai and haven't seen/used this before, drop everything you're
doing and go check it out immediately. Trust me, it's worth it. The dictionary is very
extensive, including many obscure terms, and there is info about grammar, writing,
tones, and much more.)