United States
Joined 3811 days ago

246 posts - 436 votes 
Speaks: Spanish

Message 9 of 91
11 January 2014 at 3:24am | IP Logged 
fabriciocarraro wrote:
culebrilla wrote:
"I have a long road ahead of me, but I plan on sprinting that road rather than crawling backwards on my ass, which considering the fact that I’ve been assured it takes anything from five to ten years to reach a “useful” level of fluency in Chinese, I’m convinced is the way most people are tackling this issue. Sorry for the bluntness, but I’ll make fast progress because of a much more efficient learning approach than them."

Maybe saying that out loud sounds a little blunt, as he said, and shows a little attitude, but I still think that he has a point. Taking myself as an example, in both my Italian and Russian classes at university I was the best student. Did I study more than the other students? Maybe some, but I was an Engineering student and most of them were studying Philology, Languages or Literature, so they should be better than me in many aspects and yet they weren't, and I believe that it only happened because I had a "chatting" approach. So while my colleagues "only" studied by classroom and grammar books and movies, I chatted with natives on Skype and Livemocha, both text and voice chat from the start, which the pretty much the base of Benny's "method", and it happened a long time before I met Benny's blog.
I am not by any means trying to brag or anything like it, please don't get me wrong. I'm just trying to say that most students learn in classrooms or through grammar books, and based on my own experiences, classroom methods are mostly very slow, since there are usually 5, 10, 15, 20 students, and they usually don't focus on the living part of the language that much, creating students that after 2 years are able to read intermediate poems in Russian but become speechless when facing a native speaker.

Those Chinese forum guys were independent learners, by the way.