Norway
Joined 5120 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 57 of 432
29 January 2014 at 6:50am | IP Logged 
YnEoS wrote:
I'm a beginner and I've never participated in one of these before, and I would really love to
try to use this to push myself to reach a semi-comfortable reading level in Russian. I don't think I'll be ready
to dive right into books come May, but I have a number of intermediate resources to use aimed at helping
learners get through pieces of Russian literature with the aid of various supplements such as definitions for
difficult vocabulary, and contextualizing discussion between passages. Would I be able to count these
towards my books read, so long as I adjust it to reflect the actual amount of Russian content I've read? (IE:
only count the pages with reading passages, if a reading passage is broken up by English notes count it as
half a page, etc.)

Yes, you can :-)
1 person has voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6383 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 58 of 432
29 January 2014 at 10:34am | IP Logged 
Try Ilya Frank's method, parallel texts and easy books :-) You can also do GLOSS lessons - 30-40 lessons is roughly one book. And don't forget that rereading counts, so that if you have half a page worth of text and read it twice, it counts as a full page.

patrickwilken
Germany
radiant-flux.net
Joined 4319 days ago

1546 posts - 3200 votes 
Studies: German

Message 59 of 432
29 January 2014 at 10:50am | IP Logged 
Serpent wrote:
And don't forget that rereading counts, so that if you have half a page worth of text and read it twice, it counts as a full page.