Bulgaria
Joined 3750 days ago

6 posts - 6 votes
Speaks: Bulgarian*
Studies: Japanese

Message 1 of 7
18 January 2014 at 8:48pm | IP Logged 

Hello everyone!
I'm new to HTLAL and writing journals about my language learning progress but this sure looks like fun :)

My history with Japanese is long-winded but suffice to say I have been a chronic beginner for a while. Being stuck in the same place for years started to annoy me so I've decided to stick with it and move on to the next level. I want to reach the point where I'll be able to read Japanese books without looking up every word and grammar construction.

Since September 2013 I have been using Wanikani and I'm currently level 10. From now on I'll start reading more in Japanese.

2014-01-18:
Reading: 結婚したばかりの男性を雪に投げる行事「む こ投げ」 (NHK Easy News) about the groom throwing custom in Tookamachi city, Niigata prefecture

Edited by Naerro on 18 January 2014 at 11:10pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Naerro
Bulgaria
Joined 3750 days ago

6 posts - 6 votes

Message 2 of 7
31 March 2014 at 10:15am | IP Logged 
I have been thinking how the reason to learn a language determines your success in that language. You should really do what you enjoy in that language or you walk away from it. Thanks Khatzumoto (who knew I would ever agree with him).

So...

For Japanese: manga
For Portuguese: capoeira
For Chinese: Chinese movies/customers?
For Spanish: guitar?
For Russian: books.
For Sanskrit: yoga.
For Korean: manhwa.
For German: books.
For English: books, roleplaying, writing.

PS. Little Portuguese primer.

Edited by Naerro on 31 March 2014 at 10:19am

Lakeseayesno
Tetraglot
Mexico
thepolyglotist.com
Joined 4116 days ago

280 posts - 488 votes 
Speaks: English, Spanish*, Japanese, Italian
Studies: Esperanto, French

Message 3 of 7
31 March 2014 at 6:15pm | IP Logged