30 messages over 4 pages: 13 4  Next >>
Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6357 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 9 of 30
20 January 2014 at 11:58pm | IP Logged 
Expugnator wrote:
a) When the language is too close to my own, e.g. Spanish, what is the point in reading texts which I could already read before I studied anything at all? Also, just checked and I can understand videos without studying either. What I need is to focus on activating my knowledge, becoming aware of the differences that don't hinder understanding but make one chuckle while trying to speak.
To take care of the "unknown knowns", as I call them. The opposite of Prof Argüelles' term "known unknowns", which are the words you've seen many times and can even reproduce, but don't know the meaning of.

In closely related languages, the transparent words form a continuum. At the two ends there are words you actively have to "decipher" to recognize, and words you know so well that you can use them in your speech. Obviously, the more you see the word, the easier it will be to understand it. The first time you see a word, it may be almost opaque, and you'll need the surrounding context to figure it out. Each consecutive time will be easier, and you'll come to a point where you recognize it without the context and without thinking of the word from the related language. (my slight problem with Spanish might be that I like the Portuguese words popping in my head when I read/listen and I don't want them to stop doing that)