Australia
Joined 4302 days ago

45 posts - 53 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Russian

Message 1 of 21
21 January 2014 at 5:58am | IP Logged 
Hello!

I'm about to choose my other Bachelor of arts major (yes I know queue flipping burgers joke). I'm majoring in Russian and my other major will be Linguistics, Economics or Journalism. I'm just wondering if anyone here has any knowledge or personal experience on the Linguistics major.

So far what I am reading is that it is a very specific field that is only useful if you plan on studying a foreign language (which I am). Translating and teaching are the first careers that come to mind - that will benefit from this major. But really my impression of the infortmation on the internet is that it's only about as better as not having a major!

There is bound to be someone here that knows a thing or two about this major... if you're reading this, I want to sponge your brain for advice!

Thanks in advance!

1 person has voted this message useful

lichtrausch
Triglot
United States
Joined 5747 days ago

525 posts - 1072 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Japanese
Studies: Korean, Mandarin

Message 2 of 21
21 January 2014 at 7:03am | IP Logged 
I would only recommend it if you are absolutely set on going down the academia track. For other jobs like translating and teaching there are much more useful things to major in.

Zerzura
Groupie
Australia
Joined 4302 days ago

45 posts - 53 votes 

Message 3 of 21
21 January 2014 at 7:44am | IP Logged 
lichtrausch wrote:
I would only recommend it if you are absolutely set on going down the academia track. For other jobs like translating and teaching there are much more useful things to major in.

This is what I think so far, I don't think it's worth it. On the other hand I would find it fascinating. What are useful majors that would compliment a foreign language?

Henkkles
Triglot
Finland
Joined 4040 days ago

544 posts - 1141 votes 
Speaks: Finnish*, English, Swedish

Message 4 of 21