45 posts - 53 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Russian

Message 9 of 21
21 January 2014 at 10:52am | IP Logged 
patrickwilken wrote:
Zerzura wrote:
Hello!

I'm about to choose my other Bachelor of arts major (yes I know queue flipping burgers joke). I'm majoring in Russian and my other major will be Linguistics, Economics or Journalism. I'm just wondering if anyone here has any knowledge or personal experience on the Linguistics major.

So far what I am reading is that it is a very specific field that is only useful if you plan on studying a foreign language (which I am). Translating and teaching are the first careers that come to mind - that will benefit from this major. But really my impression of the infortmation on the internet is that it's only about as better as not having a major!

I studied at Melbourne Uni and did a BSc (but for a while dabbled in BA) as well.

From what little you've said I would recommend either journalism or economics, rather than linguistics. As others have said linguistics is really going to lead you towards an academic career. On other hand I see how you could get some interesting jobs with Russian plus journalism or Russian plus economics. Don't just assume that Russian will lead you to translator jobs.

By coincidence I rent my apartment from a German journalist, who learnt Russian and now works in Central Asia with his wife, and writes pieces for Spiegel etc and makes documentaries for German TV.

I assume Russian plus economics would also lead to some interesting career paths.

Having a foreign language, in particular a difficult and important foreign language, will open up a lot of doors.

That guy pretty much almost is living my life dream. There are some specific courses devoted to translation skills in the Russian extended major, the linguistics seems like too much theory. I can only start studying its application if I decide to study it for an extra year after my degree! (includes TESOL and stuff like that).