Russian Federation
one-giant-leap.Registered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6302 days ago

465 posts - 696 votes 
Speaks: Russian*, English, ItalianC1, Spanish
Studies: Portuguese, Serbian

Message 1 of 5
16 February 2014 at 7:25pm | IP Logged 
A "don't be shy" thread, inspired by "celebrities speaking foreign languages". I suggested speaking of usual people who get fluency somehow in the same situations when others don't.

My example: we had 10 years of English at high school, then 2 at the university. Then 2 years of break. At year 5 we got another compulsory English class, "to maintain it", as Uni officials said. I studied with a classmate. We spoke similarly at the end of those 12 years, and I didn't get any practice, except a video game forum, but when that last course started, I could maintain a discussion, and he instead often lacked grammar and vocabulary. I was shocked.

(He also did play videogames. :) And me, only later that year I could really get enough practice.)

Do forums really help that much? Any similar stories?

Edited by Siberiano on 16 February 2014 at 7:27pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Avid Learner
Diglot
Canada
Joined 4471 days ago

100 posts - 156 votes 
Speaks: French*, English
Studies: German

Message 2 of 5
16 February 2014 at 9:17pm | IP Logged 
In my experience, yes, forums really do help that much. I've already posted about it in another topic, but I went from having a hard time formulating a sentence to being able to speak in a few years without speaking more than an hour a year.

Edited by Avid Learner on 16 February 2014 at 9:18pm

2 persons have voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6406 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 3 of 5