Melya68
Diglot
France
Joined 4076 days ago

109 posts - 126 votes 
Speaks: French*, English

Message 1 of 13
19 February 2014 at 2:30pm | IP Logged 
I have absolutely no idea how long this 日本語 adventure will last.
I've decided to just enjoy it. :)

I started studying three days ago. By now, I know most of the hiragana, though reading them in words is still difficult. I've also learned many basic words and expressions such as water, wind, why, "where is?", hello, goodbye, ticket, splendid, Japanese, English, mosquito, to see, to buy, book...
I watched Mirumo de Pon! in Japanese and was able to understand a few words.

I want to avoid studying grammar and boring stuff for as long as possible. I'm going to focus on hiragana for now. I might learn katakana in a few weeks, but I don't want to get confused.

Kanji is next on my list, especially since I know some basic kanji already as I studied Chinese for a couple of weeks last year.

I still haven't learned basic greetings such as "good morning". I know it's something like "ohayo" and if I hear it I can recognize it, but writing it is another story!

I'm looking for fun resources, possibly even stuff for young Japanese children. I really want to avoid more formal courses for now.

Edited by Melya68 on 19 February 2014 at 7:57pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Melya68
Diglot
France
Joined 4076 days ago

109 posts - 126 votes 

Message 2 of 13
19 February 2014 at 11:40pm | IP Logged 
I'm almost done learning hiragana, but I need a lot more practice recognizing the characters. Sounding them out is not too difficult though, so that's good news.

I wanted to use Fairy Tail raw volume 1 for some dictation practice, but sadly, most of the manga is in kanji!

I'll definitely need to look for manga targeted at a younger audience. I'll give Yotsubato! a chance. It was recommended by some nice forum members here.

Edited by Melya68 on 19 February 2014 at 11:40pm

kujichagulia
Japan
Joined 4632 days ago