United States
Joined 3659 days ago

2 posts - 3 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin

Message 1 of 4
22 April 2014 at 6:37pm | IP Logged 
Hi all,

I've been studying Mandarin for a few months and am considering a full-scale LR assault in a couple of months when I anticipate having 2-3 weeks off.

My current status is that I've learned approximately 2000 words in Mandarin (using the SRS MCD method with a number of sources), have learned about 1700 characters using Heisig's method, and have obtained 50 hours of speaking practice via iTalki. By the time I engage in LR, I will have learned 2000+ more words (for a total of 4000+), all of the characters in Heisig (3000), and will have gotten 100 more hours of speaking practice (total 150). My reading comprehension and basic conversational capability is not bad, but I have quite low listening comprehension otherwise.

Question 1: Given that information, is it conceivable that 140-200 hours of LR, for 10+ hours a day, will enhance my listening comprehension to the extent that I can understand TV shows and radio broadcasts and the like? The ability to read novels and other books would be a huge bonus, but I'm primarily going for listening comprehension here. I have the time, I have the focus; I just need to make sure I'm not wasting that time.

Question 2: Has anyone done LR for Mandarin or Cantonese, and have you gotten anywhere with it?

Question 3:I've read aYa's detailed page (http://learnlangs.com/Listening-Reading_important_passages. htm) on the LR methodology and have been left somewhat confused. I understand the basic steps (1. Read L1; 2. Read L2, listen L2; 3. Read L1, listen L2. I also get that I should have 40-70 hours of material and that it should be repeated 2-3 times. I even understand that it's better to progress from simple to complex texts.

What I don't get is why there seem to be completely different versions, including: