rdearman.orgRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5018 days ago

881 posts - 1812 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Italian, French, Mandarin

Message 65 of 198
31 May 2014 at 7:44pm | IP Logged 
Kerrie wrote:

Personally, I'm tired of listening to you argue about your rank. The only person who cares is you. For me (and I think I can safely speak for the majority of people who signed up for this challenge), I care about what I do, and the progress that I make in my chosen languages. I have a tremendous respect for your language abilities, but your competitive nature (and your whining about ranking) is detrimental to the whole challenge for many people, and I wish you would stop.

I don't want to start this whole argument again and I don't want to cause offence to anyone. However previously I saw what I thought was a lot of "Serpent bashing" but I didn't say anything because it all seemed to be coming to an end and I didn't want to add fuel to the fire and because I'm just a newbie. But I would like to come out on the side of Serpent here.

I think a lot of people seemed to have taken the view that her idea of the SC being a competition and ranking herself against others is a bad thing. I don't believe that she has whined about the ranking system or about the way the challenge has been done. As near as I can see she has tried to be helpful to people where she could, and to point out errors or admissions to the BOT.

While I don't think she has expressed herself well on a lot of occasions (which might be because English isn't her first language) that doesn't mean she is whining. I have noticed her later posts were much more defensive which is understandable when everyone seems to be against you.

Lets face facts, some people ARE more motivated by competition than others. Everyone is different and what is makes the world an interesting place.