Sycamore
United Kingdom
Joined 5501 days ago

6 posts - 6 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Swedish, Japanese, French, Esperanto

Message 1 of 8
04 May 2014 at 1:06am | IP Logged 
As a number of others have done, I decided to take part in this 6 week challenge with
Esperanto as my target language. I've done it a couple of times in the past with other
languages, but this is the first time I'm starting it as an absolute beginner, so I am
really intrigued to see where I end up after these six weeks. I made this account on
here a few years ago now and I often come by for the excellent advice many people give,
but this is the first time I've actually gotten around to posting...

I can't stick to just one language at a time so I am keeping up with my other languages
during the challenge. Swedish is my strongest foreign language at probably B2 level,
meaning that maintaining it is not too hard these days as long as I get a little
regular exposure to it. For French and Japanese I am at that kind of intermediate level
where I can read a decent amount, but I'm still aware of forgetting things if I take
too long away from it. I passed the JLPT N3 in the Dec 2012 exams, but took about a
year off since then, so I'm working at getting back to that point as soon as possible.
My listening comprehension for both needs a lot of practice, which was going to be my
next main goal until I decided to go for Esperanto... so for the next little while
it'll be mainly Duolingo and Anki to keep up the exposure. Aside from that I have spent
some time on both Dutch and Italian in the past, so I know some fragments from each but
I won't be working on either for some time.

So, to Esperanto! I started on May 1st for the 6WC, so now I am three days in. So far,
my main source has been the beginner courses on lernu.net. I originally started with
Bildoj kaj demandoj as recommended in their starters' guide, but it felt a little slow