Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Languid language learning (Team Advanced)

Tags: Swedish | German | French
 Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
129 messages over 17 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 8 ... 16 17 Next >>
Elenia
Diglot
United Kingdom
lilyonlife.blog
Joined 3638 days ago

239 posts - 327 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: German, Swedish, Esperanto

Message 57 of 129
14 January 2015 at 11:39pm | IP Logged 
So. Update time!
This past seven days I studied a grand total of (drumroll, please) 544 minutes for
French! Which makes just over 9 hours in total, if I'm not mistaken.

This 544 minutes is comprised of:
364 minutes of reading
100 minutes of class time (give or take)
32 minutes of BookTube
22 minutes of Anki
14 minutes of Grammer
and 12 minutes of ReadLang flash cards*

The obvious heavyweight of all of my activities is reading, in particular, reading
Carpe Jugulum, which made up a whopping 306 minutes of my time. The reading was
done in Readlang and on my phone, which means that it was semi intensive. (On my phone,
I can look words up in the French dictionary while commuting, but I won't always find a
definition as it's a standard dictionary and Pratchett's writing is often very
colloquial.)

German and Swedish came bottom, naturally. I'm not sure which of these two
featherweights actually came out lowest, as I definitely did a lot more German reading,
but I actually used Swedish FSI. In addition to this, my Swedish anki decks are
these giant, (sometimes) unwieldy behemoths while my German Anki deck is currently a
passing summer breeze. However, I am anticipating spending a lot more time with German
than Swedish over the coming weeks. Sorry, Swedish!

So, that is all! I have a nine am class on Brecht and the Drama tomorrow, which
requires me to leave my house at something like 7.30 - yes, yes, I know. I live in un
trou perdu. But what can I do?
Here's to next week being even better than this week!