brunugle.wordpress.c
Joined 6379 days ago

1292 posts - 1766 votes 
Speaks: English*, NorwegianC1
Studies: Japanese, Esperanto, Spanish, Finnish

Message 17 of 27
06 July 2014 at 11:09am | IP Logged 
Thank you, Cristina! Hugs to you too!

Cristina is so sweet. She sent me text messages when I was gone to try to get me to come back.

Well, I'm still studying. I know I'm learning a lot, but it doesn't feel like I'm making much progress. That's just my impatience. I want to know everything now! So every once in a while I need to remind myself that I've only been studying for a month and a half and that I really have made a lot of progress and actually take a look at how much I do understand rather than how much I don't understand. For example, this morning I listened to all of Korvat auki. I actually understood most of it. I'd listened to the first two chapters before and they were pretty easy, but this was the first time I'd listened to the whole thing. I guess I understood 90+% of the first few episodes and maybe 70+% of the last few. I was trying to download them at the same time as I listened, so it might have been better if I'd paid closer attention. (I always understand best with my eyes closed.) I got a bit confused a couple of places because of a lack of vocabulary. I didn't understand that he wanted to get a haircut, for example, and just connected the part where they were talking about the student discount to the part before that where they talked about movies and thought that they were planning to go to the movies, but that didn't really seem to fit the rest of what they were saying, so I got confused. I also didn't know the word for getting engaged, but that was easy enough to understand from context.