United States
Joined 3579 days ago

27 posts - 29 votes
Speaks: English
Studies: Thai*
Studies: Spanish

Message 1 of 66
05 July 2014 at 8:13am | IP Logged 
I would like to learn Mandarin Chinese to a low Intermediate level in 7 weeks.
A low intermediate level for me is being able to speak basic sentences and understand basic sentences. Also I want to be able to pronounce pinyin without struggling and be able to write a few dozen Chinese characters in Simplified Chinese.

Here is some of my background information. I am 21 years old and I am taking an online Mandarin class in my local community college. I'm a native speaker of Thai (but my Thai is a bit rusty since I was raised in the USA) and I can speak English fluently. I'm also in an advanced level for Spanish. I'm not married, I don't have children, and I'm a full-time student, so I can dedicate my entire summer to language learning.

The reason why I want to learn Mandarin in 7 weeks is because I signed up for an Intermediate Chinese class at my community college and the class starts on August 25, 2014. Also I signed up for science courses and it would be helpful if my Mandarin was good so I don't have to study so intensely in Mandarin when I should be studying for my science courses.

I noticed that many language learners on Youtube have informed their viewers that Mandarin is difficult for them because the Chinese words are difficult to pronounce, the characters are difficult to write/remember, and there are so many Chinese characters in existence.

Since I'm Thai, I have noticed that pronouncing the Chinese words are not difficult at all for me because Thai and Mandarin are both tonal languages. Many words in Chinese and Thai are pronounced the same way. If they are not pronounced the same way, the words often rhyme.
For example: in Thai, the number "three" is "sǎm" while in Mandarin it's "sān".