Netherlands
Joined 3828 days ago

905 posts - 1262 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, Spanish, French, English
Studies: Dutch

Message 1 of 8
20 September 2014 at 11:04am | IP Logged 
Hi all.
   I'm currently studying at the Alliance Française and I would like to have some advices for one or two monolingual
grammar books covering the grammar (with exercises) from B1 to C1 and of course also a refresh of the basics to
complement my studies.

Thank you very much in advance.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Cavesa
Triglot
Czech Republic
Joined 4790 days ago

3277 posts - 6779 votes 
Speaks: Czech*, FrenchC2, EnglishC1
Studies: Spanish, German, Italian

Message 2 of 8
20 September 2014 at 2:35pm | IP Logged 
Hi, tristano.

I am using the series Grammaire Progressive du Francais by CLE. Especially levels Avancé and Perfectionnement might be interesting for you. It's probably the most widely known and used series in the world and for good reason. I think it it is of the highest quality and I usually compare similar resources for my other languages to it as well.

Another great publisher, and much less widely known, is PUG. Their L'Exercisier is a grammar for B1-B2 levels and for B2-C1, there is L'Expression francaise ecrite et orale which I hope to start with soon.

Another well known series is by Hachette but those were purely exercise books, without the explanations. They used to have five levels before a huge overhaul of the series and now they've got four levels, only up to B2. I didn't get the series becuase I like to have the explanations and exemples with the exercises.
5 persons have voted this message useful

Jeffers
United Kingdom
Joined 4690 days ago

2151 posts - 3960 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Hindi, Ancient Greek, French, Sanskrit, German

Message 3 of 8
21 September 2014 at 12:05am | IP Logged