Joined 3549 days ago

84 posts - 122 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Esperanto, French

Message 1 of 26
24 October 2014 at 3:46pm | IP Logged 
Hello,

Let me quickly explain my situation...

My fairly long-term pen pal recently announced that she will be coming down to Australia, along with her family (twin sister and parents), this coming February (2015). I told her that if she ever came to Australia then she could stay at my family's place, as we have a large house.

I have always wanted to learn French (well, you know what I mean) and now I have the perfect opportunity of being able to actually use a language with native speakers. This is an opportunity which I want to take advantage of. My pen pals parents speak very little English, so I should learn French even if just for this reason.

All I have is about three months to learn the language. I am quite new to language learning (Spanish for almost 6 months, Esperanto just started a few weeks ago... by the way, Esperanto actually has improved my language learning ability!).

If I were to just go out and buy what I think would be alright, then I would probably purchase the Colloquial French book and/or the Teach Yourself Complete French book (all with CD's, of course).

French is such a popular language to learn (to say the least), so I assume that there is a French self-study book which beats the French Colloquial and TY book (among other mainstream brands). With some unusual languages I can imagine that one doesn't really have much of a choice other than CQ or TY: but with French, there would be thousands of great books.

MY QUESTION IS: Is there any book which is considered the French self-study book? Any suggestions on which book I may buy? Or, is CQ or TY the way to go?

I will have completely finished high school in a few days (2 more exams to go!) and then with all my free time I plan to study French for 2 hours a day.
So, around 180 hours of French before my visitors from France arrive.