Groupie
Peru
Joined 3499 days ago

40 posts - 48 votes
Speaks: Spanish*

Message 1 of 6
03 November 2014 at 8:47am | IP Logged 
Hello I am a student of English

What first memorize the words or pronunciation?

Edited by phonology on 03 November 2014 at 8:54am

1 person has voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6384 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 2 of 6
03 November 2014 at 10:11am | IP Logged 
Make sure to learn both, at least when you're actually memorizing (as opposed to picking up the words by reading, watching movies etc).

Also, the English pronunciation may be difficult but you can make lots of progress if you work on it for some 20 hours.
1 person has voted this message useful

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6490 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 3 of 6
03 November 2014 at 1:22pm | IP Logged 
You need to be able to pronounce the words in your head to memorize them efficiently, so some basic pronunciation is necessary from the beginning. This includes knowledge about how to produce the sounds which are used in a given language. The problem with English is that you can't trust the orthography, so to get specific words right you either have to hear them or memorize the pronunciation you can see in your dictionary. Or accept that not all words get their proper pronunciation from the start.

Edited by Iversen on 04 November 2014 at 3:03pm

2 persons have voted this message useful

rdearman
United Kingdom