Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

What Expug is doing in 2015 (TAC n more)

Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
364 messages over 46 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 ... 45 46 Next >>
Expugnator
Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4947 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Norwegian, French, English, Italian, Papiamento
Studies: Mandarin, Georgian, Russian

Message 65 of 364
05 February 2015 at 9:27pm | IP Logged 
Thank you guys, iot was really interesting to learn more about Italian, Turkish and the IPA. You have no idea how useful and encouraging these replies have been, being used to write mostly on my own here.

I studied an interesting text on the day of a pedestrian in Norway. I wonder if the traffic conditions are tenser than average as the author claims. Maybe it's the year the book was written and people weren't so much resignated about having the city dominated by cars. Anyway, I learned important describing participles.

It turns out I'm reading difficult texts in my strongest languages. I'm reading on a different subject in French, and even though my understanding is just fine, sometimes the author uses words that I have to look up so I can process all their expressiveness and figurativeness. In the case of Norwegian, it's rather the dense descriptive and overly formal style of Hunden fra Baskerville that makes my reading slow. It is another reason I prefer contemporary books dealing with contemporary times - I don't like current historical novels that much either.

I'm glad Practical Chinese for Official Functions is coming to an end. It's a good textbook but it's too much info for my level. One page a day of intensive reading is enough for me to actually internalize some new words.

A good day for Georgian reading. It wasn't that fast but at least I understood quite a bit from the text.