United Kingdom
lilyonlife.blog
Joined 3638 days ago

239 posts - 327 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: German, Swedish, Esperanto

Message 9 of 33
05 January 2015 at 5:11pm | IP Logged 
Hello. I'm Lily/Elenia from England, and this is my first time taking part in the TAC.
I'm a student of French in my final year, and I'm taking part partially to boost my
studies and partially so I don't give up on French as soon as I graduate. A (much more
lengthy) explanation of my goals and methods can be found in post 48 of my log.
1 person has voted this message useful

garyb
Triglot
ScotlandRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4989 days ago

1468 posts - 2413 votes 
Speaks: English*, Italian, French
Studies: Spanish

Message 10 of 33
05 January 2015 at 5:46pm | IP Logged 
Expugnator wrote:
As we're discussing ways for activating your languages, I noticed that it helps a lot to try and write dialogues in TL and making them as authentic/colloquial as possible

I think this is a brilliant idea! One problem I often find in social conversations is that I don't always have the "right" word/expression to use when someone expresses a certain idea, or I overuse the same ones. Just simple stuff like "ah bon?", "en effet", "d'accord", to pick a few obvious French examples. Writing dialogues might help with that.

sctroyenne
Diglot
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5173 days ago

739 posts - 1312 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Spanish, Irish

Message 11 of 33
06 January 2015 at 7:27am | IP Logged 
Hello all! So in the attempt to set up a smart TV at my mother's this weekend, we somehow knocked out the internet so I'm just now returning to civilization. I just poured myself some port and am all set to get caught up with the goings-on at HTLAL and the TACs!