Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Radioclare’s tac log 2015 (*jäŋe/*ledús)

Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
292 messages over 37 pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 1 ... 36 37 Next >>
Radioclare
Triglot
United Kingdom
timeofftakeoff.com
Joined 4343 days ago

689 posts - 1119 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Esperanto
Studies: Croatian, Serbian, Macedonian

Message 1 of 292
01 January 2015 at 9:44pm | IP Logged 
New year, new log :)

I will be studying two languages this year: Croatian and Macedonian.

I've been learning Croatian for three years now and feel like I made significant
progress last year, mainly due to participating in both the TAC and the Super
Challenge. I would estimate that my level is about B1 at the moment, but my
reading/listening is a lot stronger than my writing/speaking.

My main goals/plans for Croatian this year are:

1) Improve my writing skills by writing an average of 50 words in Croatian per day. I
know that other commitments will mean I don't ultimately write 50 words every single
day, but I'm aiming for an average of 350 per week. That will be 18,000 words over the
course of the year if I can pull it off.

2) Improve my grammatical accuracy by revising some of my existing textbooks and
finishing those which are still in progress.

3) Increase my vocabulary by using Memrise more regularly.

4) Develop Cyrillic handwriting which is legible at least to myself and read my first
adult novel in Cyrillic. Strictly speaking this is a 'Serbian' goal rather than a
'Croatian' one but you will find that I use the words interchangeably in my log. I am
primarily learning 'Croatian' because that is the country I have a cultural interest
in, but most of the novels I'm reading are actually 'Serbian' translations. I don't
want to get too hung up on the political correctness of it all here; I tried telling
someone I was learning BCMS once and they thought I meant BDSM. Awkward.