Joined 4575 days ago

614 posts - 782 votes 
Speaks: English*, Arabic (Egyptian)*
Studies: Russian, Japanese, Hungarian

Message 1 of 47
04 January 2015 at 2:42am | IP Logged 
明けましておめでとう!
Happy New Year!

So I'm starting a new log, and this is my first official TAC 2015 post. I have another
log, and I originally was going to keep updating it, but looking back on my progress,
which hasn't been much for over two years, and the erratic posting, I thought it
better to start over with a clean slate, and one that is entirely dedicated to
Japanese, and any other East Asian language, should I decide to take up one at some
point. Also, reading my past posts....it's embarrassing what you find there. I feel I
have grown, both as a person, and as a language learner, and I want my log to reflect
this. If anyone's interested, here it is. I warn you,
though, it's cheesy. There. I said it.

I started studying Japanese in 2012. Before that, and growing up, really, I watched
anime and read manga extensively, of course in English, and in the case of anime,
watching Arabic dubs. I'm a native speaker of both languages, but I can't stand the
English dubs. Anyway, I started watching anime in the original, and I also started
watching Japanese drama, which really fascinated me with the overall culture in
general. I started getting attached to the language and anything Japanese, and it
bothered me that I had to rely on subs to understand the language (I pulled the plug
on any dubs, I just hate those, even though the Arabic was pretty good), and I decided
to take the plunge and learn Japanese. During that time I researched online how to
self-study Japanese, and came across this website, AJATT, and many other places that
really inspired me. I blazed through RTK in a month I think (I binge on Japanese that
way) because I was so impatient and I just wanted to start understanding what I was
reading. I got Assimil, and while I think it was a wonderful resource, again my