Joined 7119 days ago

1098 posts - 1056 votes 
6 sounds
Speaks: Cantonese*, English, FrenchC1, Mandarin
Studies: Spanish
Personal Language Map

Message 17 of 22
22 June 2005 at 4:53pm | IP Logged 
Shusaku, there was a very well written review about Cantonese. You must have put a lot of time and effort into it. How have you come to know so much about Cantonese?
1 person has voted this message useful

Shusaku
United States
Joined 6901 days ago

145 posts - 157 votes 
1 sounds
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin, Cantonese, Japanese

Message 18 of 22
22 June 2005 at 6:31pm | IP Logged 
Thanks, victor. I started studying on and off about a year and a half ago after marrying a native Cantonese speaker. About 8 months ago I decided to get serious about Cantonese in preparation for a trip to southern China to meet my wife's family. After many amazing experiences during our trip, I've continued my study and typically put in 2-3 hours every day. Unfortunately, my level of Cantonese is still much lower than where I'd like it to be, but I do feel that I have a good overall knowledge of the language and hopefully my skills will continue to improve with time and practice.

vincenthychow
Tetraglot
Hong Kong
Joined 6905 days ago

136 posts - 145 votes 
Speaks: Cantonese, English, GermanB1, Japanese
Studies: French

Message 19 of 22
23 June 2005 at 11:07am | IP Logged 
Shusaku, you've got a very good condition on learning. You have a native speaking wife~!
Spoken cantonese, as well as madarin, is some how difficult just because it is tonal. If you can get accustomed to the tone, and be able to discriminate the tones, you will soon master it.

epingchris
Triglot
Taiwan
shih-chuan.blog.ntu.
Joined 6829 days ago

273 posts - 284 votes 
5 sounds
Studies: Taiwanese, Mandarin*, English, FrenchB2
Studies: Japanese, German, Turkish

Message 20 of 22
29 August 2005 at 6:25am | IP Logged 
Ardaschir wrote:
¡K¡Kand words are generally separated these days.