Groupie
United States
Joined 3360 days ago

70 posts - 105 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Irish, French

Message 1 of 40
14 February 2015 at 1:24am | IP Logged 
Since I'm a total newbie to the forum, maybe I should include a little background to create
context for my Irish study. I've studied languages in a variety of school contexts: (USA)
grade school through high school study, a summer immersion program, and standard US college
courses. I reached the equivalent of about 2 years university study in French, Latin, and
Japanese... and forgot them all because that was so very long ago (I'm now in my mid-50's).

In the past several years, I've tried to re-learn Japanese, and to learn Russian, both
outside of a classroom environment, but unfortunately both times I lost momentum within a
few months. Looking back there may have been too steep a learning curve with unfamiliar
writing systems, and no structured classroom to prod me through. (My Japanese study program
had been conversation focused, to the point of functional illiteratacy).

I've been successful with recreational self-study of mathematics, computer languages, and
learning to play a few musical instruments, so I know I *can* learn things on my own. But I
may need more structure and accountability to maintain steady progress, which is why I was
so happy to find this subforum.

I have family and cultural connections to Ireland, but I was frightened of learning the
language because the writing behaved by no phonetic rules I could figure out. My Irish
study began because Duolingo Irish just come out of beta, I got intrigued, and it was fun
and addictive... but it lacked enough grammar to keep me happy, as I had studied
linguistics and loved syntax. So on a late-night whim I bought a couple of book/CD sets
suggested by Amazon, and got a step more serious about the whole thing.

Not that I'm being an intellectual heavyweight here. I'm continuing to enjoy Duolingo