solaren
United States
Joined 3331 days ago

36 posts - 42 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Japanese

Message 1 of 32
22 March 2015 at 10:15pm | IP Logged 
Greetings! I've been ghosting on the forums for a few months now, and decided that
it's finally time that I start a language learning log for my Japanese efforts.

About Me:
I'm a 32 year old monolingual from California. Apart from a single semester of
Japanese 1 in college about 10 years ago, I have not had any experience with the
language. My goal is to reach fluency through self study. Specifically, I want to
watch movies and shows without subtitles, and do so without trouble understanding or
following the plot and characters. I would also like to converse comfortably with
native Japanese speakers here in my hometown.

Current Level:
I have been studying for 4 months so far, every day for about an hour a day.
Currently, I can eat at local Japanese restaurants without using English. I can also
make very basic smalltalk with Japanese people about daily life as long as the other
person speaks clearly and with basic words and sentence structure. If I had to
estimate my current abilities, it would be N5 level.

What I've done so far:
I spent the first couple of months trying to figure out the best way to self-study. I
looked at the sentence methods using Anki, like AJATT and JALUP. I went through my old
college textbook, I did Pimsleur 1 from a local library, I purchased and completed the
basic Michel Thomas course, I purchased Assimil and have completed up to lesson 30,
and I also purchased the audio book set from JapanesePod101.

I've also read up a lot on this forum concerning methods, courses, etc. So, after some
trial and error in trying to figure out what works for me and what doesn't I've come
to a few simple conclusions.

*The sentence method is way too boring for me to stick with. This goes for Anki in
general. It's just not enjoyable for me. (EDIT: Months in I've decided it may not be